The UKZN Tennis Club on the Pietermariztburg has integrated the social aspects of varsity life with the professional game of tennis. This has been achieved through implementing two squads: a beginners' squad and an advanced squad.

Both squads have their own professional coaches and allotted court times every week. There are also sessions where these squads play together to ensure that a progression in every players' game is achieved. The social aspect of the game is also heightened by the combination of these squads on a weekly basis.

Six tennis courts which are of the highest standard allow for tennis players to have access to the game when they wish. Membership to the Tennis Club also means that preference over courts outside of practice times lies with club members rather than public users. Three courts with light facilities allows for tennis to be played at night, meaning that there is little or no conflict with lecture scheduling.

Since the initiation of UKZN (all campuses) in 2004, the UKZN side has maintained a steady position League A at USSA - the national university championships held at the end of every year. The UKZN side boasts provincial players and has in the past hepled individuals reach their goals of making the South African University Team, traveling overseas to compete and represent their country.

Currently the Tennis Club is maintaining a position of steady development, ensuring that professional coaching allows for new players to learn the game, progress and become knowledgeable in the sport; as well as making certain that potentials are reached in regard to higher ranked players. The development of under-privelaged persons has seen the UKZN Tennis Club (PMB) integrate their skills with students from Owen Sithole Agricultural College.

Latest News
Latest Events

Contact Info:

Chairperson: Shivaal Pillay   071 9632149

Secretary:  Ofentse Habedi   074 7312739

Practice Times:

Advance: Mondays 18h00-19h00

Beginners: Tuesdays 16h30-17h30

Joint practice: Thursdays 17h00-19h00

Membership fees:


Contact Webmaster | View the Promotion of Access to Information Act | View our Privacy Policy
© University of KwaZulu-Natal: All Rights Reserved